Short film about Kabasalenyo’s struggle to save community’s fish stock wins top prize in Istorya ng Pag-asa Film Festival

Manila – A short film about a Kabasalenyo’s struggle to save a dwindling fish stock of the community won the of the judges’ nod to win the top prize at Istorya ng Pag-asa Film Festival.

The short film, “Ka Dodoy” was the Best Film at the INPFF’s awarding ceremony Saturday night, June 9 at the Ayala Trinoma Cinema 7.

The story of the short film revolves around Roberto “Ka Dodoy” Ballon Jr., chairman of the Kapunungan sa mga Gamay ng Mangingisda sa Concepcion in Kabasalan, Zamboanga Sibugay, and his leadership, dedication, and sense of duty to save the stock fish in his community from collapse.

With Ballon’s leadership, the community was able to regain their fish as he inspires people to help in the work of conservation.

The film, directed by Meg Seranilla and Mark Aposaga, won the cash prize of P80,000.

Other winners were “Maglabay Ra in Sakit,” first runner-up; “Litratista,” second runner-up.

The INPFF is a nationwide competition on original short documentaries featuring extraordinary stories of ordinary Filipinos as a platform for Filipino filmmakers to showcase inspiring stories of hope.

The organizer of this year’s competition was the Office of the Vice President (OVP) in partnership with the Ayala Foundation and the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP).

The following films won the Special Awards: Best Director for Allan Lazaro for his short film “Litratista;” Best Cinematography and the Ayala Foundation Community Development Award for “Ka Dodoy” by Meg Serranilla and Mark Aposaga; Best Editing for Mijan Jumalon for “Maglabay Ra In Sakit;” People’s Choice Award for “Yapak” by Romel Mondragon Lozada; and The Office of the Vice President Special Recognition Award for “Modern Day Hero” by Roy Robert Rusiana.

The panel of judges includes the following: screenwriter Doy del Mundo, filmmakers Dan Villegas and Quark Henares, actress Shamaine Buencamino, and representative of FDCP chairperson Liza Diño. (jm)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *